Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Oslo Environmental Prize

1. June 2018,8:00 am - 5:00 pm UTC+0

“Winner of Oslo Miljøpris 2017, Kaja Ahnfeldt with Mayor of Oslo, Marianne Borgen. Photo: Jan Zander, Agency for Urban Environment, Oslo Municipality

About the prize

Each year Oslo kommune hands out Oslo’s’ Environmental Prize. The prize is created to stimulate and reward innovation and efforts in environmental in the task to make Oslo greener and more environmentally friendly. The prize can be given to the citizens, organizations, corporations or startups.

Nominate your candidate

The deadline for nominating your candidate is the 13th of April 2018.

Nominate your candidate here

Criteria to choose a candidate

Oslo’s environmental prize will be handed out to someone who by their effort for the environment in Oslo can be presented as a role model for others by:

  • Having done an effort over time for the city
  • Being a pioneer in their field
  • Having done something that has brought significant environmental results

With environmental effort, we mean efforts that can improve our physical environment like for example:

  • Cleaner water, air and soil
  • Reduction of carbon and greenhouse gasses, pollution and sound pollution
  • Preservation of biological diversity and valuable nature
  • Conscious consumerism, procurement and management of waste
  • Environmentally friendly construction

The Oslo Environmental Prize cannot be given to service functions in the Municipality of Oslo, but credit can be given to especially great environmental projects in own organization.

Diploma and 50 000 kroner

The winner receives 50.000 nok.  A second place with sincere recommendation will be rewarded 10.000 NOK. Both winners will receive a framed diploma. The prize will be handed out in Oslo City Hall Friday the 1st of June during Bymiljøkonferansen.

The prize was handed out for the first time in 1998, then under the name “Oslo Bymiljøpris”.

 The Jury

The jury consists of 5 people. The members of the jury are obligated to:

  • Chose a winner and who will be awarded a sincere recommendation based on the nominations
  • Each jury member has one vote each, but leader of the jury have the final saying
  • Suggest a new member of the jury for their group for the next year

Jury leader

Kari-Anne Isaksen, secretary to the vice mayor of department of environment and transport

Members of the jury

  • Sigmund Hågvar, styremedlem i Naturvernforbundet i Oslo og Akershus
  • Hege Skarrud, politisk nestleder i Spire
  • Silje Bareksten, Head of Smart City i Oslo Business Region
  • Kaja Ahnfelt, prosjektleder i Restarters Oslo


Agency for Urban Environment in Oslo municipality functions as a secretariat for the jury work.


Oslo City Hall
Rådhusplassen 1
Oslo, 0037 Norway
+ Google Map